The Review You Do When You’re Not Reviewing…

Yes, I know, I haven’t given a proper review in ages.

Yesterday, I read something between a short story and a novella that annoyed me so much I gave it one whole star on Goodreads. It was a sort of fluffy-romance thing, which isn’t my usual genre, but I thought I’d give it a go.

To spoil things, the whole story was “Is this new lover of Hard-Working Single Mum a psycho or not? No? Great, they’re getting married.”

She had known him for less than a week.

A. WEEK.

I was looking for the hidden catch at the end, mentally screaming “BUT YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW HIM! Why am I the only person who thinks marrying him is a horrible idea?!”

There was clearly something – a big something – I was missing. Not sure if it’s exemplary of the genre and I just don’t get that kind of romance (which is entirely my own issue) or whether it was truly a WTF ending. All I could think was that the so-called heroine was hopelessly naïve and unflatteringly desperate.

4 thoughts on “The Review You Do When You’re Not Reviewing…

  1. Hey Naomi
    Just want to thank you for being one of my first followers at breadtagsagas.wordpress.com. I’ve been going just over 3 months now and made my 25th post. I’ve been running
    http://breadtagsagas.com/
    as a parallel more polished layout for about 2 months. I hope you’ll visit and maybe subscribe.
    I like the clean no-nonsense layout of your site. I also like your amusing but excellent short pithy reviews. My problem is keeping down the volume. Keep up the good work!
    Kind regards
    Tony
    p.s. Any feedback welcome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

