And Now For Something Completely Different

Don’t worry, I promise I won’t use this blog to just flog my favourite artworks all the time 😉 But I just came across this, and it struck a chord that resonates into my reading and writing life, too.

At high school, I was drafted into a “Gifted and Talented” class (for my writing, I think. It sure as hell wasn’t for my mathematical abilities, of which I have zero.) If I’m ever a famous author (or even a published author!) I will cheerfully out the teacher of this class as the monomaniacal bully she was. She made no bones about the fact that she thought I was an idiot who was wasting her time and everyone else’s.

I was fairly opinionated as a teen.

I am very opinionated now.

Anyway, despite Teacher from Hell, I remember her actual classroom fondly – mainly because I learned so many wonderful things in it, which opened up a whole new mental world for me. I had no idea, before, that there was so much in the world to learn and be fascinated by.

This was one of the paintings on the wall of the classroom. Painted by Henri Rousseau in 1907, it’s known as The Snake Charmer. Creepy, yes, but as a girl of fourteen, there was a sensuality about it that I didn’t recognise at the time and which captivated me [insert your own snake/penis metaphors here] [insert your own childish joke about inserting things here].

The Snake Charmer, Rousseau

One thought on “And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. Reminds me a little of the Maker of Universes series by Philip José Farmer (an oldie, but if you haven’t read it, then I think it’s worth the read – one of those books that got me hooked on the genre). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

