Liebster Award Thingy!

Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

Several at once. I’d never get a thing done if I had to read books one at a time.

How many books are currently on your TBR?

1328. Not a typo :p

How long have you been book blogger?

Nearly 6 months.

Which character from your favorite book would you most likely be friends with, and why?

Mmm… I really don’t know. I tend to like characters who’d make awful friends. But I’m fond of Kelly from Colin Mulhern’s The Boy Who Buried Dead Things (reviewed below.) I have tweenaged nieces, and this is the sort of character I would like them to look up to and emulate.

Which movie based on a book do you like the best?

Peter Brooks’ 1963 adaptation of Lord of the Flies. I’m also inordinately fond of Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings trilogy (shut up :p)

What is the worst book you have read?

All the way through? I’m not sure. I tend to bail if I’m not enjoying it… and wouldn’t want to put down fellow writers. I find Jane Austen intolerably dull and trivial, though.

If you could meet any character from any book, and punch them in the face, who would it be and why?

Christian Grey, because he is a selfish, abusive prick.

Who is your book crush?

Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights, though I don’t think I’d actually want to date him.

What is your favorite genre?

Probably mystery, though I always say I’ll try anything that isn’t erotica or overly saccharine Chick Lit.

Name a book that you would not/could not finish and why?

Hmm… again, I don’t want to trash a writer who, for all I know, tried their best. But I recently tried a “cozy murder mystery” I couldn’t finish. Good premise, nice cover, but the writing was very unprofessional and full of basic errors. And I had issues with the way rape was used as a plot device.

If you could adapt any book into a movie, which book would you choose?

Ed Chatterton’s marvellous Road Kill would make an awesome short film.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award Thingy!

Leave a Reply

